My concept of being prepared

I thought to go along with my introduction I would write a post on what I am trying to accomplish with my preparedness activities. I think there are multiple levels to being prepared, mostly defined by what you are prepared for. But irregardless, I think you need to be able to provide food, water, shelter and security. I think those four groups encompass everything you need, and the longer you can provide them, the better off you are. It is a goal of mine, to be able to provide these things indefinitely. I think the only way I will truly be able to do that would be through a complete life style change.

But if you scale back a little bit, I think providing those things to get you through a small disaster is pretty easy to do. It’s easy enough, that I think if you can’t do it for a month, given a likely disaster in your area, then you are guilty of being negligent. (If you are just getting started in this, or even if you have been at it awhile, I would recommend to you The Survival Podcast. I happen to like episode 1486 as a great starting point for preparedness.) Now, by a likely disaster, I mean things like weather related emergencies, or even social emergencies. If you live in L.A. for example, you’ve got a massive population, combined with the possibility of a massive earthquake. Sounds like a great recipe for hell on earth.

-On the subject of podcasts, if you don’t listen to them you are missing out on a massive amount of information. Blogs are great, but actually hearing some of your favorite bloggers or their influences discussing their ideas and sharing knowledge is something you don’t want to be missing out on. I happen to use an app called “podcast addict” to keep track of my favorites. –

So for me, having the ability to provide for my families needs for one month was my starting point. There are still a few things I need to augment before I feel I am truely ready for one month of off grid living.

Once  I am good to go for a month, I’ll start over and add another month,  and then another. I’ll continue to do this until I have 6 months worth of food on hand and other necessities.  I will also be starting to garden eventually and sourcing more local food.

I feel one of the most important things we can be doing as preppers and patriots is to network locally.  Maintain a level of security, but don’t be bashful about meeting like minded people. And if you can support another like minded person by purchasing goods from them,  it will make your whole local patriot network stronger.

You see, I don’t really have the bunker mentality or the bug out to the mountains mentality. If something catastrophic happens I plan to stay in my home as long as possible. I’m lucky enough to live in a town where I’m not too afraid of the population turning hostile, and people are still fairly old fashioned when it comes to helping their neighbors.

So part of my preparedness planning actually involves networking and helping to convince my friends and family members to become more self sufficient.

This is a touchy subject with a lot of people, but over the last year or so it has become easier to approach people simply because of the failures of our government and the economy. I think the average person no longer believes that everything will be better in the future. Throw in people’s uncertainty about how the government has handled our border security, Isis, and a bleak outlook for their retirement and it is not hard to at least get people to consider being more prepared.

Another reason I think we should be more prepared, at least at the one month level, is so we can better help other people during situations that only cause a temporary disruption. If a massive blizzard comes through and knocks out power for a week, and the grocery trucks can’t get to town because the highways are closed, it sure would be nice to be able to help your neighbors.

It also would be nice to not have to worry about getting to the store for the last bits of groceries that everyone is scrambling for. It would be nice to be able to sit in your nice cozy, warm house rather than have to go out in the cold.

So you see, its not really about surviving and living in the mountains. It’s about being able to help those who can’t help themselves. Its about being ready to help when the opportunity comes.

When a lot of people think of preparedness, the 80’s movie “Red Dawn” comes to mind. They imagine living in the mountains fighting an invader. But it’s more about being the old couple who were hiding their nieces. The people who had the supplies and the knowledge to put to use when the time came.

 

My concept of being prepared

Leave a Reply

